top of page

Essential Supplements for Pregnancy & Beyond!


As I look back at the past 6 years since my last pregnancy, it is amazing how much has changed in our lives. But probably the most profound change has been my health. My first two pregnancies were the most difficult times in my life. I always had dry/scaly skin, but my eczema was horrifically severe during my pregnancies. And it consumed my entire body. After my second baby was born, I was determined to discover why my skin was showing these signs.

From what I learned, I was able to do some gentle cleansing, examine my diet, and improve my lifestyle so that I could live healthy. As a side effect of being healthy, my skin has been been clear of eczema for over 4 years!

When I found out I was pregnant with baby #3, I was most concerned about how my skin was going to react. I am happy to report that I am starting the second trimester, and I haven't had any skin irritations (except for some hormonal blemishes!). I am even more grateful than ever to have access to Young Living's essential oils and supplements.

Since I have been pregnant, the #1 essential oil I can't live without is PEPPERMINT. Peppermint has been helping me with all the challenges that are associated with the first trimester. I use it to increase my energy, relax tension, support a healthy digestive system and freshen my mouth from the yucky taste a lot of new mommies get.

It is important to take notice that not all essential oils and supplements are equal quality. The products you buy from Young Living are not what you get at the drugstore. Everyone should be supplementing their diet, and here are some important reasons why:

Since so many people have been asking me which supplements I take, I will list them below. All of these supplements I am about to discuss are important for everyone, not just pregnant mamas. The 10 supplements I currently take are:

Master Formula is an advanced nutrient complex. This is better than any multi-vitamin you are use to. Master Formula offers a combination of premium vitamins, minerals, and food-based nutrients, including vitamins B1, B2, B3, B5, B6, B9, D3, K2, A, E, and essential oils, including: Tumeric root, Cardamom, Clove, Fennel, Ginger. Having a multi-vitamin derived from whole foods is important for me so it is easy to digest and doesn't exacerbate any nausea during the first trimester.

2. Super C Vitamin C is an important antioxidant necessary to support a healthy immune system (which is important for me and the growing baby). Each Young Living Super C tablet is jam packed with 1,083% of the daily recommended amount of vitamin C. This is a high quality vitamin C supplement that can be easily absorbed with its included bioflavonoids. I take one a day, unless I feel like I need an extra boost. I have to say the price tag of this vitamin C supplement is a sweet deal. 120 tablets are included in each bottle - so that will last you 4 months if you take one tablet/day. Even my husband, Paul, says he notices a difference when taking Super C!

3. Mineral Essence

Because the first trimester was filled with nauseous days, I admit it was difficult for me to eat high nutrient-dense foods. So supplementing minerals was important for me to keep my supplies up. Mineral Essence is a great liquid supplement with the most fully and quickly absorbed form of minerals available.

4. Sulfurzyme Sulfurzyme was recommended to me by my acupuncturist. Not only will this supplement support healthy hair, nails, and skin, but he suggested that it will also gently support my healthy liver. Supporting the liver is important to minimize the nausea associated with the first-trimester.

5. Super B For years, we thought folic acid was a necessary supplement for soon-to-be and expectant moms. Although, the latest research says it can do more harm than good. In fact, you should be taking folate (instead of folic acid) derived from a natural source. Super B contains all eight essential, energy-boosting B vitamins, including natural folate derived from lemon peels.

6. Ningxia Red If you purchased a starter kit with Young Living, it included 2 packets of Ningxia Red. I drink 1-2oz of Ningxia Red daily for several reasons. It's amazing, it makes me feel good, it boosts my energy, it suppresses crazy pregnancy cravings, and it is a powerhouse of healthy foods! Here is a video discussing the top 4 reasons you want to drink Ningxia Red:

7. MegaCal

Ok, now, since I'm a mom and my kids tell poop jokes almost every hour, we are going to talk about another challenge that comes with pregnancy....and actually, most people are challenged in this area even when they aren't pregnant! I'm talking about "being backed up in the bathroom". Ok, we are getting brutally honest now! Proper colon elimination is important to maintain throughout life and to keep things moving smoothly, I supplement magnesium with MegaCal every evening before bed.

8. Essentialzymes-4

Also related to digestion, I can't say enough how I LOVE enzymes. Enzymes are required for digestion. There is no way around it, you need enzymes. Your body produces some, but stops around 3pm (isn't your biggest meal of the day usually after 3pm?!). Food should contain enzymes to help digest itself, but it usually doesn't because it's not organic, we cook it, or it traveled a million miles to get to you. Enzymes have been critical in the digestive health of everyone in my family. My kids take enzymes, my husband takes enzymes, and I since I have been pregnant, I can't barely lick my finger while cooking without taking an enzyme! If you have any sort of tummy troubles, see if supplementing with a broad-spectrum enzyme helps you. Young Living makes some really great enzyme formulas, but their broad-spectrum one is Essentialzymes-4.

9. Life 9

Life 9™ is a proprietary, high-potency probiotic that combines 17 billion live cultures from 9 beneficial bacteria strains that promotes healthy digestion, supports gut health, and helps maintain normal intestinal function for overall support of a healthy immune system. When it comes to probiotics, I also rely on fermented foods like kefir, sauerkraut, and pickles.

10. OmegaGize

Omegagize is an omega-3, DHA-rich fish oil supplement to support normal brain, heart, eye, and joint health (all things I want for myself and my growing baby). OmegaGize³™ combines the power of three core daily supplements-omega 3 fatty acids, vitamin D-3, and CoQ10.

BONUS SUGGESTION: A couple of the supplements I mentioned above included vitamin D3. But I want to make sure I am getting 4000IUs of D3 every day. So I also take a supplement drop from Thorne to make sure I am getting enough D3 (especially in the winter months).


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page